

The Times online – Comment section – Letters, 9 June 2016



GLOBAL HEALTH DRIVE

Sir, This week more than 25 of the world's leading health organisations, including the World Heart Federation, British Heart Foundation and World Stroke Organisation, signed the Mexico Declaration on Circulatory Health, the most comprehensive global declaration for the prevention of heart disease and stroke. Every three minutes someone dies as a result of heart disease and stroke in the UK; the healthcare costs alone are estimated to be up to £ll billion a year. The global picture is more frightening: more than 17 million deaths each year. We know the causes of heart attacks and strokes and how to prevent them, now we need action. That requires political leadership to create and implement national action plans to prevent disease.

The World Health Organisation's aim is to reduce premature mortality from heart disease and stroke by 25 per cent by 2025, and we have now pledged to achieve this together. This is an international call to action to tackle one of the most pressing health issues of our time. *Professor Salim Yusuf, President, World Heart Federation; Simon Gillespie, Chief Executive, British Heart Foundation and President of the European Heart Network: Professor Stephen Davis. MD FRCP Edin FRACP, President, World*

Network; Professor Stephen Davis, MD FRCP Edin FRACP, President, World Stroke Organisation; Professor Michael Kidd, President, World Organisation of Family Doctors; Professor David Wood, President-Elect, World Heart Federation; Professor Martin McKee, President, European Public Health Association; Professor John Buckley, Professor of Applied Exercise Science, University Centre

Shrewsbury, Chair of the International Council of Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation; Katie Dain, Executive Director, NCD Alliance; Professor Pekka Puska, European Society of Preventive Medicine; Professor Ross Arena, European Society of Preventive Medicine: Dr Michael Sagner, European Society of Preventive Medicine; Professor Fausto J. Pinto, President, European Society of Cardiology (ESC); Professor Rhian M. Touyz, MBBCh, PhD, FRCP, FRSE, President, International Society of Hypertension, British Heart Foundation Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine, Director, Institute of Cardiovascular & Medical Sciences, University of Glasgow; Dr Erick Alexanderson, President, Mexican Society of Cardiology; Nancy Brown, Chief Executive Officer, American Heart Association; Professor Mark A. Creager, President, American Heart Association; Sue Koob, CEO, Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association; Professo Bongani M. Mayosi, President, Pan-African Society of Cardiology; Professor Sherry Grace, Executive Board, International Council of Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation; Richard A Chazal, Medical Director, Heart and Vascular Institute Lee Memorial Health System; President, American College of Cardiology; Professor Habib Gamra, President African Heart Network; Neil Poulter, Chairman, International Society of Cardiovascular Epidemiology & Prevention and President-Elect of the International Society of Hypertension; Mr Rohan Greenland, President, Asia Pacific Heart Network; Professor Guillermo Garcia Garcia, President, International Federation of Kidney Foundations (IFKF); Matthew Myers, President, Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids; Dr Khalid Alhabib, President, Saudi Heart Association; Dr Fahad Al Nouri, Chair, Saudi Group of

CardioVascular Prevention and Rehabilitation, Saudi Heart Association; Dr Anwar Jelani, Deputy Chair Saudi Group of CardioVascular Prevention and Rehabilitation, Saudi Heart Association: Prof. Dr. Dr. Werner Hacke, Incoming President, World Stroke Organisation; Professor Michael Brainin, President Elect, World Stroke Organisation; Professor Bo Norrving, Past President, World Stroke Organisation; Professor Yuji Matsuzawa, President, International Atherosclerosis Society; Richard Hobbs, Chairman, European Primary Care Cardiovascular Society and Acting Chair, International Primary Care Cardiovascular Society; Professor Adeera Levin, President Elect, International Society of Nephrology; Professor Diederick E Grobbee, President, European Association for Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation; Yvonne García Richaud, President, InterAmerican Heart Foundation; Dr Diego Delgado, President, Interamerican Society of Cardiology; Dr Prasart Laothavorn, President, Asia Pacific Society of Cardiology; Dr Wael Almahmeed, President Elect, Asia Pacific Society of Cardiology; Professor Donna Fitzsimons, Past Chair, European Society of Cardiology Council on Cardiovascular Nursing and Allied Professions (CCNAP); Dr Catriona Jennings BA Hons RN FESC FP CAN PhD, Chair, Council on Cardiovascular Nursing and Allied Health Professions (CCNAP); Dr. S.M.Sadikot, President, International Diabetes Federation and President, Diabetes India

Share **f G**+