Commission designates first European reference laboratories for public health

The Commission has today adopted the designation of the first six European reference laboratories (EURLs) for public health with the aim of further strengthening the EU’s defences in the face of serious cross-border threats. The EURLs will bring together scientific expertise across the European Union, to improve preparedness, rapid detection and response.
The newly designated EURLs cover the following areas:

  1. Antimicrobial resistance (AMR) in bacteria
  2. Vector-borne viral pathogens
  3. Emerging, rodent-borne and zoonotic viral pathogens
  4. High-risk, emerging and zoonotic bacterial pathogens
  5. Legionella
  6. Diphtheria and pertussis
Click here to read more.